Guide to the Aufenthaltskarte for non-EU spouses

Information about working in Vienna - applications, legal information, etc.
james00794 Canada

Guide to the Aufenthaltskarte for non-EU spouses

Post by james00794 » Thu Jul 19, 2018 1:09 pm

Hi everyone! I'm new to Austria (Graz, not Vienna), and just moved here from Canada with my EU (Polish) wife. As part of our move, one of the first things I had to do was sort out how to acquire an Aufenthaltskarte as that is the key to being able to live and work here in my situation. I thought I would write up a bit of a guide for anyone else in a similar situation, as it was surprisingly difficult to find information, and different (often incorrect) information was given to us from various sources.

Who does this guide apply to?
This information only applies to married couples in which one member is an EEA citizen and one is not, who are moving to Austria.

What does the Aufenthaltskarte give you?
The Aufenthaltskarte gives residency for up to 5 years, or whatever date is issued on the card. From what I have been told, the authorities usually just grant them for 5 years. It also documents that you are the spouse of an EU citizen who has used their treaty rights to move here, and are therefore exempt from needing a work permit to work in Austria. There is an additional confirmation of this that can be requested from the AMS, but in my experience with potential employers, most have been satisfied with the just the Aufenthaltskarte1.

Prerequisites to apply for an Aufenthaltskarte: